Question: Illegal forward pass or . . . legal
Is it where your feet are at the point of release, or where the ball is?
This was the instant replay from the booth play.
Question: Illegal forward pass or . . . legal
Is it where your feet are at the point of release, or where the ball is?
This was the instant replay from the booth play.
both, if anything crosses the line of scrimage.......i thinkOriginally Posted by Turbine
Feet. I think.Originally Posted by TheFan
It's the feet, same as the sideline. A ball only counts when it breaks the plane of the goal line or first down line,.Originally Posted by DestinCajun
In the sequence of pictures below it shows the line of scrimmage and the clip after Jer Babb releases the ball. (The quality sucks, the ball is a complete blur) but I can tell you the ball was already released at least a full foot back.
The line of scrimmage was at the 21yard 2 ft mark. Babb's feet were exactly at the 21 yard line.
Geaux Cajuns
I would have first guessed the ball, but I went to the NCAA Football Rules website and the Rule read.
A forward pass is illegal if:
a. Thrown by a player who is beyond the neutral zone.
Although it does not specifically say ball, feet, or body. I would now guess feet.
Interesting wording "beyond" rather than "IN the neutral zone"Originally Posted by J-Town Cajun
Hey Jer, continue to trust your instincts, they couln't get it right with instant replay.
jmo![]()
Geaux Cajuns
Regardless of whether it was or wasn't, at that point in the game the call should not have been made. First, it was not definitive and second the game had already been decided!
They needed to practice their replay capability
![]()
is it just me or is anyone else wondering what the wr on top is doing? (grins)
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)