Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Grantland Rice Bowl Memories.

Default Grantland Rice Bowl Memories.

Just wondering how many other old geezers like me were there that day and their memories of this Cajun game

I was a sophomore at then USL and went to that 1970 Grantland Rice Bowl game. The Cajuns led late, recovering their own kickoff in Tennessee State's end zone for a touchdown in the third or fourth quarter. After that, Jefferson Street Joe Gilliam throws the football some 70 yards in the air after a good Cajun pass rush down the east sideline to the south end zone of Mumford Stadium for a touchdown. I was right next to the play, as the Cajun cornerback slowed down, allowing the Tenn. State player to get behind him. He must have figured that there was no way that Gilliam could have thrown the ball that far. But he did, for a damn TD We played an outstanding game against one of the biggest and most talented teams in the country and narrowly lost by a score of 26-25 (I think). Mumford Stadium in Refineryville long time ago. Any other old-timers out there who were at that game?

As for Coach Hud and his staff, this is the VERY BEST (on paper) recruiting season that I have ever experienced (IMHO) and there's still time for more athletes to be offered. I haven't been this excited about football since we beat Texas A&M! I have a feeling that another bowl game will be possible in the near future!

GO CAJUNS!!!!

Default Re: Grantland Rice Bowl Memories.

I wasn't at the game but I did watch it on TV. There sure was some talent on that team.

This was right around my 1st birthday. Interesting to think about. Spent the first few years of my life up the road a bit from that stadium. I'll have to ask my dad if he remembers the game.

igeaux.mobi

Young whippersnapper.lol. Geez I'm old.

Alumni Re: Grantland Rice Bowl Memories.

FYI, the game was played at Memorial Stadium right past the governor's mansion. Mumford Stadium is on Southern University's campus