Thread: Ragin Cajun for life.

Default Ragin Cajun for life.

Ragin Cajun For Life…

My diploma is a sacred object, it took me years to obtain. I’m proud to be a graduate of the University of Louisiana (or SLI, USL etc). My years at this university are valued beyond belief, as are the friendships I made and still maintain are, as the memories are as well. I chose to be a Ragin Cajun for life when I signed on for classes, when I flunked out, when I came back, and when I graduated. When you sign up at this university, you’re signing up to be a Ragin Cajun for life.

Graduating from this University has helped me secure professional positions allowing me to make more money than anyone in my family before me. It is a part of my personality, my being, my self-awareness.

If you’re not all in with this University and most of all what it offers, both in the classroom and outside of the classroom, you’re not all in. You’re cheating yourself and the people who are paying for your education. Harsh to say, but if you can’t be all in, then leave. Sure, I’ll watch those other state schools with some passing interest, no matter the sport. But I won’t attend those events, because to do so would make me a hypocrite. I would be turning my back on who I am, a Ragin Cajun for life. It’s personal, it’s something I’m proud of…being a Ragin Cajun for life…

Do I get disappointed with my university and its athletics? Yep, that’s part of the buy in. And being so allows me to speak without shame or fear. However, when the university has no transparency, then are they serious about moving forward in both Academics or Athletics? Has the university gone so far as to monetize everything associated with it? Is it about them or is it about the people who have decided to be Ragin Cajun for life? Decisions have consequences. And those consequential decisions are now coming home to roost, for the better or not. Accountability is going to be a difficult pill to swallow.