I truly do not think he saw the fair catch signal. If that is the case it should completely change the analysis of some here. Until I am told different by the player, I’m going with that scenario.
Oh let me be the first to say, I don't think or know if he saw it and I was okay with his initial reaction, but once we all knew (the ones watching it on TV), that it was a penalty then that is where I got upset.
Again one of the pieces that doesn't matter is that whether or not he made a FC call, it would have been a penalty because of the HALO rule. If he would have just made the same play without the targeting, it still would have been a penalty. He did not get the receiver a chance to catch the ball. Their were two penalties on the play,
--Not giving the receiver 2 yard circle to catch the ball
--Targeting
Here is the definition by the NCAA of the "HALO RULE"
The halo rule was an NCAA rule that protected punt returners who were looking to catch the punt. The halo rule stated that players need to give the punt returner a two-yard cushion before he catches the ball.
https://video.search.yahoo.com/searc...7&action=click
I’m not sure he does not have the two yards distance before the catch is made also . . .
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)