Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Thread: Regents Shut Down Philosophy

Default Regents Shut Down Philosophy

I am very upset. Check out ultoday.com.

2. Default Re: Regents Shut Down Philosophy

This is a huge disappointment. Just to reiterate what you say in your article, I said this the other day on another thread:

As a scientist, I am probably about as far away from a philosopher as you can be; however, I believe that philosophy plays a vital role in the university environment. The thought processes and logical thinking skills developed in a philosophy class really add to the overall value of your education. I think it would be a terrible mistake to lose such a program, and a real testament to the lack of commitment to education this state suffers from. Philosophy seems like one of those cornerstone programs for a university: the difference between a technical or community college, and a university. The fact that some programs may be cut isn't even the main problem, its the fact that they are making their budget cuts in education that is the real problem. Education propagates success propagates wealth.

3. Default Re: Regents Shut Down Philosophy

Is there anything we can do about this?

4. Default Re: Regents Shut Down Philosophy

As fun's article states, how much money can this really be saving, and I don't think it can be much. I would like to see the UL faculty rally around them and make their voices heard.

Default Re: Regents Shut Down Philosophy

Quote Originally Posted by CajunFun View Post
    _ I am very upset. Check out ultoday.com. _
    Better Philosophy then something really important. A degree in philosophy will get on the day shift at Burger King.

"Remember, no human condition is ever permanent. Then you will not be overjoyed in good fortune nor too scornful in misfortune."
    Socrates

In other words it ain't no big thing.

6. Default Re: Regents Shut Down Philosophy

Quote Originally Posted by RCAJUN90 View Post