-
Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
The Louisiana Ragin' Cajun football team celebrated senior day the right way, with a memorable win.
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Amazing how ULM wrangled their schedule to get an off week just prior to our upcoming game. Any word on injuries that limit practice or participation?
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
I wonder if anyone has a clip of the arky last play?
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Quote:
Originally Posted by
LaCajunsFan
I wonder if anyone has a clip of the arky last play?
I watched it on WatchESPN replay and it isn't even close. His knee was down way before he let go of the ball. In fact, his hip was contacting the ground before the ball left his hand.
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Hard to believe the zebras got that wrong.
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
CajunEXPRESS
Hard to believe the zebras got that wrong.
Eh, scoring plays are always reviewed, if it's just a fumble, no review is necessary. I think they called it as a fumble/td so they could double check and make sure that they got it right.
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Still have not gotten it right. The correct call was to blow the whistle, or at least declare a dead ball after the fact, when the OL when a player other than the fumbler attempted to advance the ball.
Rule 4-1-3 Ball declared dead
A live ball becomes dead and an official shall sound his whistle or declare it dead:
(j) when, before a change of team possession on fourth down or a try, a Team A fumble is caught or recovered by a Team A player other than the fumbler.
Rule 7-2-2-a Caught or Recovered
When a backward pass or fumble is caught or recovered by any inbounds player, the ball continues in play.
Exception 2
On fourth down before a change of team possession, when a Team A fumble is caught or recovered by a Team A player other than the fumbler, the ball is dead. If the catch or recovery is beyond the spot of the fumble, the ball is returned to the spot of the fumble.
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Quote:
Originally Posted by
ATXCajun
Still have not gotten it right. The correct call was to blow the whistle, or at least declare a dead ball after the fact, when the OL when a player other than the fumbler attempted to advance the ball.
Rule 4-1-3 Ball declared dead
A live ball becomes dead and an official shall sound his whistle or declare it dead:
(j) when, before a change of team possession on fourth down or a try, a Team A fumble is caught or recovered by a Team A player other than the fumbler.
Rule 7-2-2-a Exception 2
On fourth down before a change of team possession, when a Team A fumble is caught or recovered by a Team A player other than the fumbler, the ball is dead. If the catch or recovery is beyond the spot of the fumble, the ball is returned to the spot of the fumble.
---This is really interesting---if I have it comprehended correctly, the ball was automatically dead WHEN the big lineman picked it up---there would have been 2 seconds on the clock with a Cajun first down from that spot??? Correcto???
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Would that hold up in an appeal if the video had not been clear. Any case the friggin zebras never saw anything. They blew it any way they could.
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Well, I think they considered it a backwards lateral. Even if it hits the ground, (unlike a fumble) it can be advanced by the player that recovers it.
Luckily the ball carrier was down before he lateraled (or fumbled).
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
FYI--replay of game is on right now on CSTHD 1037 (Cox).
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Crawfish
Well, I think they considered it a backwards lateral. Even if it hits the ground, (unlike a fumble) it can be advanced by the player that recovers it.
Luckily the ball carrier was down before he lateraled (or fumbled).
Correct, yes, and YES (he definitely threw it)
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
CajunEXPRESS
Would that hold up in an appeal if the video had not been clear. Any case the friggin zebras never saw anything. They blew it any way they could.
This is the scary part. They were prepared to hand this one to ASU on an illegal play.
-
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Crawfish
Well, I think they considered it a backwards lateral. Even if it hits the ground, (unlike a fumble) it can be advanced by the player that recovers it.
Luckily the ball carrier was down before he lateraled (or fumbled).
In the previous post I failed in include some lead in language from the rule. I fixed that post and I'll include here.
Yes, under most circumstances, a backward pass can be advanced. However, the rule provides an exception that fits our circumstance:
Rule 7-2-2-a Caught or Recovered
When a backward pass or fumble is caught or recovered by any inbounds player, the ball continues in play.
Exception 2
On fourth down before a change of team possession, when a Team A fumble is caught or recovered by a Team A player other than the fumbler, the ball is dead. If the catch or recovery is beyond the spot of the fumble, the ball is returned to the spot of the fumble.
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Quote:
Originally Posted by
ATXCajun
If the catch or recovery is beyond the spot of the fumble, the ball is returned to the spot of the fumble.
It didn't look like a fumble to me. Is there more to the rule?
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Quote:
Originally Posted by
DieHard1280
It didn't look like a fumble to me. Is there more to the rule?
---So the call should have been dead ball and ball to the Cajuns--first down with 2 seconds to play---correct???
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
So none of those multiple lateral plays at the end of a game can occur on 4th down? What about laterals downfield? I think in this case the stAte QB was not lateralling to anyone in particular as he was being tackled. Does that make it a fumble if you just throw the ball backward wildly?
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Was it a fumble or a backwards lateral? He looked to purposely throw it back.
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Staff member told me it was a lateral. Therefore had he thrown the ball before being down, it would have been a TD. When I asked if they were confident the QB was down while waiting on replay, his response was they were praying too hard to be confident.
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Cajunsmike
Staff member told me it was a lateral. Therefore had he thrown the ball before being down, it would have been a TD. When I asked if they were confident the QB was down while waiting on replay, his response was they were praying too hard to be confident.
-Damn Mike --now that is just the opposite of what ATX posted as the complete rule---Help!!!
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Quote:
Originally Posted by
ATXCajun
Still have not gotten it right. The correct call was to blow the whistle, or at least declare a dead ball after the fact, when the OL when a player other than the fumbler attempted to advance the ball.
Rule 4-1-3 Ball declared dead
A live ball becomes dead and an official shall sound his whistle or declare it dead:
(j) when, before a change of team possession on fourth down or a try, a Team A fumble is caught or recovered by a Team A player other than the fumbler.
Rule 7-2-2-a Caught or Recovered
When a backward pass or fumble is caught or recovered by any inbounds player, the ball continues in play.
Exception 2
On fourth down before a change of team possession, when a Team A fumble is caught or recovered by a Team A player other than the fumbler, the ball is dead. If the catch or recovery is beyond the spot of the fumble, the ball is returned to the spot of the fumble.
In the replay it was clearly an attempted lateral, not a fumble. And he was clearly down before he got the ball out.
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Quote:
Originally Posted by
charliek
In the replay it was clearly an attempted lateral, not a fumble. And he was clearly down before he got the ball out.
To summarize, a lateral is legal in that instance while an intentional fumble is not.
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
Quote:
Originally Posted by
charliek
In the replay it was clearly an attempted lateral, not a fumble. And he was clearly down before he got the ball out.
---The fact that he was down makes the point moot---but what if he hadn't been down---what would have been the ruling??? it has been said that when the lineman picked it up it was a dead ball even if he wasn't down before the back pass!!!
-
Re: Cajuns Win A Wild One Over The Red Wolves On Senior Day
It wasn't a dead ball because the refs never blew the whistle until he reached the goal line.