Re: G5 Final: Louisiana 17, South Alabama 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by
BBcajun
LaB...pretty sure we called that time out with 0.51 seconds was because Ben jambed his finger on the previous play, not because he wanted to. Right when that timeout was called Ben ran over to the sideline holding his hand against his chest. I think the med staff was trying to shield him to keep South Al from noticing. I am sure more will come out on that this week.
Yea, the TO was called right after the end of the play.
Even if Ben was hurt, I don’t think you call a TO automatically. You also don’t hustle to the line and call a play. There was a lot of time left with two TOs and you are on the 1 yard line.
Re: G5 Final: Louisiana 17, South Alabama 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by
BBcajun
Yep...had no choice
For all the posters who speculated on the timeout they may need to go hide in a bunker. I have been preaching never assume.
Re: G5 Final: Louisiana 17, South Alabama 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Turbine
The two days of silence are on the coach.
Keeping things so close to the vest will only lead to speculation.
To <u>think</u> otherwise shows a lack of maturity.
Under this theory, once the season starts he would have no time to coach as all of his time would be spent here answering to RP arm chair coaches . . . not sure that is how things go in reality.
Re: G5 Final: Louisiana 17, South Alabama 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Bandwagon King
So my question is why was the clock stopped with 1:11 left & no one got charged with a time out on 3rd & two after the completion? Or did they charge UL with a time out & not take it off the score board? Is that why we didn't burn a time out to burn the kicker?
We were charged a TO at 1:11. That’s where the referee got in Bergeron’s face after Bergeron called the TO, which I don’t know if he was actually authorized to do. Rule book says head coach, player in the field, or legal substitute located between the numbers can call a TO. I know I’ve seen coordinators call before. But idk if I’ve ever seen just a regular asst coach call one.
There was panic on the sideline. It wasn’t controlled.
Re: G5 Final: Louisiana 17, South Alabama 20
And again, you have 2 and goal from the 1 and you throw. And then 3 and goal from the 1 and you throw again
I remember a certain superbowl where a similar thing happened and resulted in an interception.
We panicked and were unorganized, there’s no way around that conclusion.
Re: G5 Final: Louisiana 17, South Alabama 20
What was going on with one of our coaches losing it and being held back on the sidelines?
Re: G5 Final: Louisiana 17, South Alabama 20
i admit tho, we were missing a lot of piece on offense. The starting QB, center, and RB were out. The “second string” RB was out. Idk how many snaps Ben got in two minute drill in practice.
But again, the sideline was chaotic, you had an assistant coach run in the field calling a TO and other coaches holding him back.
Re: G5 Final: Louisiana 17, South Alabama 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by
RedTails
What was going on with one of our coaches losing it and being held back on the sidelines?
All I can see from the replay is Bergeron (at at least a coach who looks like him) running into the field and calling TO, and the referee took exception to something (whether it being an unauthorized person calling a TO, or the way it was called, idk)
Re: G5 Final: Louisiana 17, South Alabama 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by
LouisianaB
We were charged a TO at 1:11. That’s where the referee got in Bergeron’s face after Bergeron called the TO, which I don’t know if he was actually authorized to do. Rule book says head coach, player in the field, or legal substitute located between the numbers can call a TO. I know I’ve seen coordinators call before. But idk if I’ve ever seen just a regular asst coach call one.
There was panic on the sideline. It wasn’t controlled.
I feel like I'm watching Bustle 2.0
One of Bustle's assistants called a Time Out just as an Arkansas State FG try sailed wide left, giving them another shot which they made to win. This gave them the tie breaker for over Louisiana for the Conference Championship.
It wasn't legal then for the assistant to call a TO.
Re: G5 Final: Louisiana 17, South Alabama 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by
JMVCAJUNS
For all the posters who speculated on the timeout they may need to go hide in a bunker. I have been preaching never assume.
Coming from the moron who was calling for Dez to be fired last week, okay
Re: G5 Final: Louisiana 17, South Alabama 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by
CajunVic
Under this theory, once the season starts he would have no time to coach as all of his time would be spent here answering to RP arm chair coaches . . . not sure that is how things go in reality.
There is reason they hold post-game press conferences.
Zero to do with arm chair quarterbacks, RPCA or second guessing.
When you are secretive you open yourself to speculation. Human nature.
Re: G5 Final: Louisiana 17, South Alabama 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by
Turbine
I feel like I'm watching Bustle 2.0
One of Bustle's assistants called a Time Out just as an Arkansas State FG try sailed wide left, giving them another shot which they made to win. This gave them the tie breaker for over Louisiana for the Conference Championship.
It wasn't legal then for the assistant to call a TO.
Once the officials give you the timeout, it’s legal . . .